Masonry injection

1 Pump
KOSTER Acrylic Gel Pump
4 Waterproofing layer
KOSTER Injection Gel G4
5 Filling the boreholes

Vertical masonry injection (also known as area injection) is a standard method for the subsequent waterproofing of brick building elements in which excavation is not economical or possible. Boreholes are drilled horizontally on the inside of the building component and angularly at wall-floor connections and wall corners. The drilling depths are determined according to the wall thickness and can amount to 50% to 90% of the wall thickness. The drill holes must be drilled in such a way that at least one joint is crossed. The holes are drilled in a grid horizontally and vertically with every second row offset. Packers are spaced according to the masonry type at hand. The diameter of the drill holes depends on the chosen packers.

KOSTER Superpackers are inserted into the drill holes. In most cases, it is necessary to install an injection barrier, for example with KOSTER Injection Barrier, in order to prevent the loss of injection material due to uncontrolled outflow. In cases of exposed masonry where the appearance must be maintained (such as in historical vaults), KOSTER Repair Mortar NC can be used for touch ups where needed without significantly altering the appearance of the masonry instead of installing a complete injection barrier.

KOSTER Injection Gel G4 is injected in multiple phases until a pressure resistance is achieved. Afterwards the packer holes are filled with KOSTER KB-Fix 5. For a decorative and functional surface design, KOSTER Restoration Plasters can be applied over the KOSTER Injection Barrier.

Always adhere to the specifications in the respective Technical Guidelines.



Albania Austria Bosnia and Herzegovina Brasil Bulgaria China Croatia Czech Republic Denmark Finland Germany Ghana Greece Hungary Italy Japan Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Lebanon Macedonia Mexico Netherlands New Zealand Norway Panama Philippines Poland Portugal Romania Russia Senegal Serbia Slovakia Slovenia South Africa Spain Thailand Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom United States of America